Skip to main content

Partner Profile: Stellenbosch University

Stellenbosch University is one of the oldest universities in South Africa. It is among South Africa’s leading tertiary institutions based on student success, highly qualified scientists, research output, and is recognized internationally as an academic institution of excellence.

Located in the Western Cape province of South Africa, in the most southern part of Africa, the main campus is located in the heart of the Western Cape winelands, which is about 50 kilometers from Cape Town. Stellenbosch University (SU) is home to an academic community of more than 31,000 students, including 4,000 foreign students from 100 countries, as well as 3,000 permanent staff members on five campuses: Stellenbosch (main), Tygerberg, Bellville Park, Worcester and Saldanha.

Consisting of ten Faculties: AgriSciences, Economic and Management Sciences, Medicine and Health Sciences, Engineering, Military Sciences, Arts and Social Sciences, Science, Education, Law and Theology, the University is regarded as a leader in the fields of biomedical tuberculosis research and management, wine biotechnology, animal sciences, invasion biology and mathematical biosciences.

As one of NC State’s strategic global partners, Stellenbosch University and NC State maintain close ties through student and faculty exchanges and collaboration. Additionally, along with NC State, Stellenbosch University is a member of the Academic Consortium for the 21st Century, an international network aimed at promoting cooperation in education and research between its members.

Learn more about NC State’s partnership with Stellenbosch University that includes student mobility, faculty exchanges and research collaboration.