Skip to main content

Partnership Profile: Kenyan Partnerships

The Kenya Agricultural and Livestock Research Organization (KALRO), the Kenya Marine and Fisheries Research Institute (KMFRI), the University of Nairobi, and NC State University have signed a unique agreement to work together in the development of a multi-institutional coordinated applied research, education, and extension system for Kenya. This agreement opens opportunities for all faculty at NC State University to engage in the development and improvement of value chains (from markets to production) in Kenya favoring small farmers, women, and youth in rural communities.

The framework is intended to promote and enhance the educational and research capabilities through collaboration and exchanges initiated in fields of agricultural, livestock and fisheries. The first two CREdO (Connecting Research, Education, and Outreach) pilot projects are based on the African Indigenous vegetable value chain and the Tilapia aquaculture value chain. These two projects will cover aspects from market development, including working with Chefs, to germplasm conservation and fish feed formulation.

About KALRO: The Kenya Agricultural & Livestock Research Organization (KALRO) was established under the provisions of the 2013 Kenya Agricultural and Livestock Research Act, No. 17, and resides under the Kenyan Ministry of Agriculture. With headquarters in Nairobi, KALRO’s mission is to conduct agricultural research through application of science, technology, and innovation to catalyze sustainable growth and development in agriculture and livestock product value chains. KALRO provides various research-related services to the public which are time and resource intensive including – provision of advisory services, technical back-stopping and capacity building to the agricultural sector ministries, farmers and other agencies dealing with agricultural research for development.

About KMFRI: Kenya Marine and Fisheries Research Institute (KMFRI) is a National Research Institution established under the 2013 Science, Technology and Innovation Act No. 28. KMFRI headquarters is based in Mombasa, with eight (8) other stations across Kenya located at Kisumu, Turkana, Baringo, Naivasha, Sagana, Kegati, Sangoro and Nairobi. The organization’s overall mandate is to undertake research in “marine and freshwater fisheries, aquaculture, environmental and ecological studies, and marine research including chemical and physical oceanography”, in order to provide scientific data and information for sustainable development of the Blue Economy.

About UoN: The University of Nairobi was established under the Universities Act, 2012 and the University of Nairobi Charter 2013. The University’s overall mandate is to provide quality University education and training and to embody the aspirations of the Kenyan people and the global community through creation, preservation, integration, transmission and utilization of knowledge. The University of Nairobi has developed an evolving strong, diversified set of academic programs and specializations in the sciences, applied sciences, technology, humanities, social sciences, agriculture and the arts. UoN has 11 Faculties: Agriculture, Arts, Built Environment and Design, Business & Management Sciences, Education, Engineering, Law, Health Sciences, Science and Technology, Social Sciences, and Veterinary Medicine.

Learn more about these partnerships on the Global Partners database.